An Influential Exhibition…Guy Bourdin

Okay…so my second post is about one of my other favourites…Guy Bourdin 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-02-03 at 23.42.52

There is something about his work that is truly exciting and I was super happy when I found out that Somerset House, on the Embankment were showcasing his vast archive of work…”Guy Bourdin: Image Maker”

http://www.somersethouse.org.uk/visual-arts/guy-bourdin

Just amazing and really inspiring for me…(and hopefully you too)

If I am honest, I haven’t been to a photography exhibition for years…ooops…but this one just brought back all the enigmas and curiosities that I had when I was studying…and I am still buzzing from it!!

Some of my favourites of his…

Screen Shot 2015-02-03 at 23.44.17

Screen Shot 2015-02-03 at 23.40.37

Screen Shot 2015-02-03 at 23.40.51

I think in some ways, Guy Bourdin and Tim Walker are similar.  For example: their very specific visions, the theatricality in their images and the precision with sketches and notes to ensure they get the exact shot they want.  I think this is especially evident in the one below…love it!!

Screen Shot 2015-02-03 at 23.42.59

I will leave you with a quote which I really believe in and also makes me think of Bourdin’s image process…

“I THINK ALL ART IS ABOUT CONTROL – THE ENCOUNTER BETWEEN CONTROL AND THE UNCONTROLLABLE” Richard Avedon

Leave a Reply

